Recent changes suggested to improve Jacksonville’s Libraries

jplImmediately upon being tasked with the research of Jacksonville’s literary scene, the first place that came to mind was the library! Anyone who knows me can attest to my fondness of cozy nooks, dusty shelves, and the dim lighting of the lovely place I frequent so often– my local branch, Mandarin’s Jacksonville Public Library. I have spent many a lonesome afternoon hunched over my books, studying to the sound of my Spotify app, enjoying the relaxed atmosphere. These days have been cut short by the library’s new hours of operations. Now only open Tuesdays through Saturdays, the hours themselves have been changed significantly to many Jacksonvillans’ dismay.

In an effort to improve the library’s ability to address residents’ concerns, the end of August brought about the option to vote for an independent library district. This change is said to help Jacksonville manage resources more effectively. A website dedicated to providing information on saving Jacksonville’s libraries says funding is not the issue, management is. The past decade has seen many changes– namely, budget cuts, reduced funding, and fewer staff. Without action from the government, the library is powerless to implement innovations (such as online bill pay for customers) and stay abreast of needs Jacksonville’s residents require.

Your thoughts!